Share Files from Google Drive with Others

Now with Google Drive, you can share more than one file with other people. Just send them a direct link to your files or share file with an individual’s email address or a mailing list.

SHARE FILES VIA AN EMAIL ADDRESS OR MAILING LIST

  • Access drive.google.com.
  • Check the box next to the file or folder you want to share.
  • Choose the “Share” icon OR Click the More menu and select “Share…”
  • Select a visibility option: “Private,” “Anyone with the link” or “Public on the web.”
  • Type the email addresses of the people you want to share with in the text box below “Add people.” You can add a single person, a mailing list, or choose from your contacts.
  • From the drop-down menu next to each collaborator, select the access level: “Can view,” “Can comment” (Google documents and presentations only), or “Can edit.”how to share files from google drive
  • Click Share & save

SEND A LINK TO A SHARED FILE

Once you have already set your files, folders or Google Doc to “Anyone with the link” or “Public,” it is possible for you to send the link to another person and they’ll be allowed to access it.

  • Access drive.google.com.
  • Check the box next to the file or folder you want to share.
  • Choose the Share icon OR Click the More menu and select “Share…”
  • At the top of the sharing settings, copy the link
  • Send the link to another person or mailing list in an email or chat.

TIPS FOR SHARING IN GOOGLE DRIVE

Once you share, you’d better notify people.

When you share files with other people, they will get an email alert which lets them know that they are allowed to access and retrieve what you shared the next time they sign into their Google Drive. If you prefer not to notify them, you can uncheck the “Notify people via email” box.

READ  Top 4 Android Launchers For Your Device

Quickly add a lot of collaborators by sharing with a Google Group

There’s now no need to type your collaborators’ email addresses one-by-one, you can add an entire Google Group where each member has access to whatever you’ve shared, including people who are added to the group after you’ve shared something. This option isn’t available for mailing lists that aren’t Google Groups.

Share lots of files and Google Docs at once

If you would like to share multiple items with your collaborators, move them into a folder and share the folder, with them. When you share the folder, they can access this folder. They’ll be able to access to whatevers stored there or lose access if you remove something that they don’t already have access to.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *